The Best Things in Life…

Having three small children means I don’t always have as much time as I would like to do art for myself. Just because I want to. But I managed to grab time recently, and it was so wonderful! There is nothing more wonderful than getting your fingers smudged and the side of your hands black from charcoal and graphite. “The best things in life are generally messy”; that’s what I like to tell Sackett Man.

I had so much fun that I made a new pact with myself: that I would make time to do art for art’s sake much, much more often. I pinterest way too much, anyway!

The day I made this decision was the day that in the morning, after a two cups of good hot coffee, I did an hour-and-a-half portrait of my baby girl. I sat down on my living room floor, hauled out my sketch-pad and my box of pencils, and got to work. I don’t know why I like to sit on the floor when I draw; but more often then not, that’s where I find myself, cross-legged and bent over. Maybe it’s leftover from my ballet days and doing all those floor-stretches. Either way, that’s where I was for the next hour-and-a-half, drawing my little Rose’s portrait.

She refused to sit for me, the little 8-monther! She preferred to roll around and sit up and chew on things. Imagine that!

Rosemary, Portrait

Rosemary, Portrait

Leave a Reply

