Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice

So this Christmas is a cheaper one, primarily because we had a lot to fix on the house this year after we moved in, and Sackett Man needs surgery on his knee. One of the hazards of being a plumber; so many years spent kneeling and crouching to fix sinks, tubs, toilets, broken pipes, etc. takes its toll.

With all of this in mind, we knew we had to tighten up our financial belts and soldier forward. However, I am an avid gift-giver. I LOVE giving gifts. I love shopping for them, I love making them, I love finding them, I love discovering the perfect gift for that perfect someone… so I was determined that, money or no money, Christmas was NOT going to suffer. Amazon has been my friend. Pinterest has been inspiring. And with the crazy mix of wonderful people in our immediate and extended families, there has been an unlimited amount of ideas to ponder and sift through.

One of these ideas is the gift of Chai. Perishables are a great gift idea for adults, because let’s face it… at a certain point, how much more ‘stuff’ do you really need? I personally always have things I would love, but I also adore food. Cooking it, eating it, looking at it. Food is one of God’s greatest gifts to mankind; otherwise He would have just given us broccoli and beans and water and called it good.

I am so very, very glad He didn’t.

So again, on to Chai. There are many tea drinkers in my family. (And if any of them are reading this post, no, don’t try to guess who’s getting this for Christmas. My lips are sealed.) So I thought, what about a homemade Chai mix? I started doing some research, but there are TONS of recipes out there. Most of them require powdered milk, powdered creamers, etc., but I don’t stock those things in my cupboard and was looking for something I wouldn’t have to go buy special ingredients for. So I looked at the spices and the different amounts, and then I started experimenting with a creamer free, dairy free, sugar free Chai Spice Mix. After two days and many, many cups of Chai Tea, I have found what I think to be a very yummy blend.

The best part? It’s SO easy.

Chai Spice Mix

Chai Spice Mix

Chai Spice Mix

2 tsp Ground Ginger

2 tsp Ground Cinnamon

1 tsp Ground Cloves

3/4 tsp Ground Cardamom

1/2 tsp Ground Nutmeg

Thoroughly mix all of the spices together into a container with a lid (for easy storage).

Serving size: 1/2 tsp

When you want a delicious cup, put a bag of your favorite black tea and 1/2 tsp of Chai Spice Mix into your cup. Add the boiling water and let steep for 4 minutes. Remove the tea bag, then sweeten to taste (if you want) and add your milk or cream. It is fantastic!

If you are not a black tea fan, you can just make your cup the same as above, but without the tea bag. You won’t suffer any lack of deliciousness, I promise. (I would still let the spice mix steep for 4 minutes to get the full flavor.)

Try it and let me know what you think!

~ Mary

Leave a Reply

