It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times…

So why did I decide to start a blog now? I don’t know. I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and yesterday it hit me… why not?! What am I waiting for?

So here I am.

Recovering.

Three kids down with the stomach flu, all under the age of five, is no picnic.

That was yesterday. Today was officially labeled as Recovery Day… which has consisted of Tangled, Winnie the Pooh, Superman, paper Christmas chains, scrambled eggs, toast, and ginger ale.

The plus side of yesterday: it was gorgeous. It snowed here, on my Wisconsin homestead. Large, puffy flakes floated and swirled gently; magical, white, and serene. It covered the back field and our sloping front lawn in a soft blanket, and settled on the bare branches of trees till the whole wood surrounding us was covered and sparkling.

IMG_4219

I think that’s something we tend to forget. No matter how crummy a situation we find ourselves in, we make it better or worse by deciding what to focus on. My children snuggled with me, hugged me, called for me, and told me they loved me. My baby held my face. My oldest told me thank you. My second laid against me, looked up at me, and said “Hi, Mommy.” Precious moments with them that made everything else worth it.

I looked at that. And the snow.

Not the buckets I was cleaning every 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

